Michigan Tier 1 Sex Offender Registry Attorneys
Tier 1 Removal from the Michigan Sex Offender Registry
Due to the recent revisions to the Michigan Sex Offender Registration Act, certain Tier 1 offenders are now eligible for removal from the Sex Offender Registry. There is some confusion as to what crimes constitute a Tier 1 offense. Under the new classification system, the state of Michigan must classify all offenders into one of three tiers. Tier 1 contains the least serious sex offenses.
Michigan generally designates the following crimes as Tier 1:
• CSC 4th degree against a victim aged 18 or older
• Assault with intent to commit CSC 2nd degree against a victim aged 18 or older
• Possession of child sexually abusive material (child pornography)
• Indecent exposure with self-fondling in front of minor
• Unlawful imprisonment/restraint of a minor
• Surveillance of, or distribution, dissemination, or transmission of a recording or image of, a minor who has a reasonable expectation of privacy
• A sex offense committed by a "sexually delinquent person"
• A violation of a state or local law that, by its nature, constitutes a sexual offense against a minor
• A substantially similar offense to the ones described above under the laws of another jurisdiction
• An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the above
Certain Tier 1 offenders convicted of a single Tier 1 offense are not listed on the public website, while other Tier 1 offenders are on the website. Regardless of whether the Tier 1 offender is listed on the website, they must still register in-person one time per year at the nearest Michigan State Police post or local law enforcement office. This registration occurs between January 1 and January 15. Tier 1 registration lasts for 15 years, unless the offender petitions for and is granted a length reduction after 10 years of being on the sex offender registry.
I am ready for the next step. I want to read the chart and determine my eligibilty for Removal from the Registry. -->